Welcome to Solid State Guitar Amp Forum | DIY Guitar Amplifiers. Please login or sign up.

April 28, 2024, 10:53:31 AM

Login with username, password and session length

Recent Posts

Troubleshooting a Marshall 5203 Master Reverb 30 combo

Started by egj, February 16, 2013, 07:23:15 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

egj

Hi all,

I have a Marshall 5203 Master Reverb 30 combo amp. It stopped working a while ago while we were playing bass through it (bad idea, I know). Now it doesn't turn on at all – no power light, no sound, no nothing. The amp sounds quite nice when working so I would like to get it fixed, but I know little to nothing about electronics.

There is a fuse inside but it is intact. Nothing else seems visibly off, either. I have a multimeter, so I can measure things, but I don't know where to start xP

Photos:

Here is the schematic.

Any help would be very much appreciated! 8|

Enzo

Start at the start.   First, did you have the fuse out before it went dead?  I don't know the amp closely, so where is the voltage selector?  I don't see one, it is just transformer wiring?   Make sure the thing is set for your voltage mains, are you a 240v area or 120v?

The fuse may LOOK intact, but did you pull it from its clip mand test it with an ohm meter?

Look at the schematic, the mains wiring comes into the amp, through the fuse, and on to the power switch.   DO you have mains voltage at the mains side of that switch?   And at the amp side of that switch?

Got mains voltage right at the transformer primary?   Got that far?   Now is there voltage at the red wires leaving the transformer?  The two that connect right beside the bridge rectifier.  And verify the center tap is also still grounded - blue wire?

Right next to the bridge are two caps, C31, C32.  Got DC voltage across each of those?   20 volts or so for each.

egj

Thanks for the reply!

Quote from: Enzo on February 16, 2013, 08:48:45 AM