Welcome to Solid State Guitar Amp Forum | DIY Guitar Amplifiers. Please login or sign up.

April 23, 2024, 12:45:25 PM

Login with username, password and session length

Recent Posts

Making Reverb

Started by trialabc, June 29, 2010, 10:33:06 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

trialabc

I wanna make a DIY guitar amplifier with reverb function built-in. However, when I search the web, it seems that reverb need a spring device in order to make the effect.

Is there any other method to make a reverb? Since I am very new to guitar also, I hardly able to distinguish delay and reverb.

Thanks for your attention!

J M Fahey

Short answer, you need a spring reverb tank to get that effect.
There are other ways, but they are more complicated and often out of reach from the average experimenter.

teemuk

There are also companies that sell small circuit boards that contain a digital signal processor (and other needed components), which are programmed produce basic audio effects (like echo, reverb, phaser, chorus etc.) All you need is to provide circuitry for input, output, proper power supply and usually also somekind of an interface to select effects and control their magnitude. All that tricky DSP processing stuff, A/D and D/A converters and other digital circuitry has already been designed and built so buying such a pre-made module is a major shortcut.

It's definitely not as easy option as doing something based on a spring reverb unit but still another sensible solution.

phatt

Hello trialabc,
                   Yep Reverb not as easy as it my seem, especially for the novice.
You may want to consider a seperate unit before onboard units.
Try the "Belton unit" Though I've not heard one in the flesh, I've read good reports.

BYOC make a whole kit based on the Belton digital rev unit.
all the DA stuff is done inside the black box the rest is simple analog circuitry. :tu:

Still not quite as cool as the real spring tank it maybe your best option.
Phil.

trialabc