Welcome to Solid State Guitar Amp Forum | DIY Guitar Amplifiers. Please login or sign up.

March 28, 2024, 07:24:18 AM

Login with username, password and session length

Recent Posts

Fender Deluxe Reverb (1976) - Replacing Capacitors?

Started by ajax11124, April 27, 2014, 08:00:05 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

ajax11124

To start off, I just joined this forum because I have been growing in interest in amplifiers. I went to college for computers, got interested in hobby electronics, started playing guitar and soon after wanted to get inside the amp and look around. That's my story, now to the question.

I just got a hold of a Fender Deluxe Reverb Silverface amplifier that I believe to be from 1976 after some research I did. It's been sitting unused for the past 30 years. I've read quite a bit online about how electrolytic capacitors go bad over 10-20 years, so by 30 years I believe they probably need to be replaced. I'm not an expert with electronics, but I believe I have enough knowledge to work safely inside an amp. I have quite a bit of experience working with soldering onto circuit boards and such, and although it's a little different on these older amps, I'd rather gather the knowledge and do the work myself, rather then pass it of to an unknown amp tech. I believe it should be fairly straight forward. Identify the electrolytic caps, read their values. Then buy equivalent caps, and solder them into the same place.

My main question to start out with, is does it matter what kind of caps I replace the old ones with? Do I have to replace them with electrolytic caps, or would another type of cap with the same values work as well? What are some good brands to go with? What's a good place to find them?

This is a link to all the pictures of inside my amp. Am I correct that all the large blue caps, as well as the white mallory caps all are electrolytic and should be replaced?
https://onedrive.live.com/redir?resid=7E33E45F4682CBE8%21105