Welcome to Solid State Guitar Amp Forum | DIY Guitar Amplifiers. Please login or sign up.

March 29, 2024, 07:16:32 AM

Login with username, password and session length

Recent Posts

Marshall Lead 12 combo (5005) - Help diagnosing weird drive 'fizzle'

Started by Ubik_Fresh, February 02, 2021, 09:58:19 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Ubik_Fresh

Hey folks,

First post here, and also my first venture into fixing up an amp. Please treat me like a complete beginner as I am still learning. I have built some FX pedal kits, but that's about it. My soldering skills are solid. I bought this amp second hand knowing it needed some attention. The tools I have at my disposal are a Tenma DMM, cap discharge tool and a soldering iron.

So far I have done the following:

-Checked over board for cold/broken solder joints, re-flowed any that looked suspect
-All pots replaced with new like for like values PCB mounted pots
-All input jacks replaced with new like for like replacements
-Fitted external speaker out
-All electrolytic caps replaced including power filter caps
-Power stage resistor replaced at r21
-Socketed the IC and replaced with a new MC1458
-Sorted out ground connections to chassis that were loose

The amp now works and sounds pretty good. However, there's one niggling issue that's driving me nuts. With a driven tone, i.e. the gain cranked a bit, sustained chords seem to fizzle out (kind of like a voltage starved fuzz) as they fade out. I made a quick recording to demonstrate this (you can hear this fizzle at 0.15 when I start letting chords sustain).

At this point I am struggling to fault find the issue. I have scoured most of the Lead 12 threads here and have taken the below readings with my DMM at test points on the schematic. At this point I suspect it may be one of the transistors, or perhaps the zenner diode is on its way out. A friend suggested what I am hearing might be cross-over distortion? Or that the bias of the power stage transistors is wrong.