Welcome to Solid State Guitar Amp Forum | DIY Guitar Amplifiers. Please login or sign up.

May 10, 2024, 10:44:29 AM

Login with username, password and session length

Recent Posts

help with peavey studio pro 50-input wire connector positions? (SOLVED!)

Started by giarc1, January 10, 2012, 12:00:56 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

giarc1

hello to all, new to this site.. here's my problem...took this fine working peavey studio 50 apart just to clean it out, and my 3 year old, "helped" me by pulling the input leads off of the punch down connector..have looked all over online, and could not find what i needed...wiring schematics are not much help, at least to me...lol...i have some technical knowledge, i build p.c's, have tester's etc...i am feverishly hoping some kind soul can point me in the right direction...
THANKS IN ADVANCE!

phatt

Hi giarc1,, an welcome,

If those 4 wires connected to that then it's all signal level so wrong way won't blow up anything,,, it just wont work right.

It's tricky to explain because of the dual inputs which are likely labeled hi and low.
Just try a few logical guesses.
Phil.

giarc1

thanks phatt,
when i look under the connector, i can see that only three of the four pins go through the board. i figured maybe two of them were bridged,(common) but, they don't ring out with my meter. as long as i know it won't blow up on me....lol...i will give it a shot. thanks again!   :tu:

phatt

Then I'd guess the 2 pins that go through the board to a copper track are the Hot signals (end tips)
the other 2 will be common or ground.
They may not even be needed,,, will depend on whether the sockets are grounded to the case. Some use isolated input sockets, in which case the ground wires need to be connected to the circuit board.

The sockets are normally wired so that when you remove the cord the Hot terminal is grounded via that inside tab.
Phil.

giarc1