Welcome to Solid State Guitar Amp Forum | DIY Guitar Amplifiers. Please login or sign up.

April 28, 2024, 04:17:22 PM

Login with username, password and session length

Recent Posts

Help with SoundTech 4150 PA head, please

Started by Peter Blair, November 30, 2014, 02:20:55 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Peter Blair

Hi anyone reading this. i really appreciate you trying to help me. Not only am i a complete NOOB, but i know almost nothing about electronics. that said, i have actually managed to make some simple repairs, and save a few junk-heap destined amps.

so i have this pa head. everything works EXCEPT, if i turn the volume, the tone, or the bass pot for any particular channel to full output, the "protection" light comes on and the amp makes a loud buzz. mind you, the volume might only  be at 50%. but turn the tone or bass up full, and the buzzing starts. the main output volume might only be half way up (or less) also.

Any suggestions what to look for? i do have a small multi-tester, but that's about it for test equipment. i'm willing to replace parts as an experiment. any ideas? attached is a pdf with a schematic for the individual channels, and one for the power amp. nothing there for the EQ section (in the pre-amp?)
Thanks in advance,
Pete

Roly

Hi Peter, welcome.

Thanks for the cct.   :dbtu:

Sounds like some form of instability, and oscillation at control extremes, and the first thing I think of is earthing paths within the mixer.  Have these been messed with at some stage in the past?  Are they dirty or loose (connectors)?

How old is the gear?  If it's getting on this can also be caused by a failing power supply by-pass cap, but take a careful look at the grounding of the various modules/sections first.

You should also measure the following voltages and post them here;

Fuse F101 to ground.

Fuse F102 to ground.

Across C124.

Across C125.
If you say theory and practice don't agree you haven't applied enough theory.

Peter Blair

Hi Roly,