Welcome to Solid State Guitar Amp Forum | DIY Guitar Amplifiers. Please login or sign up.

April 27, 2024, 08:58:01 PM

Login with username, password and session length

Recent Posts

Randall Century 1000 II Low Output

Started by DckTech, May 10, 2013, 01:25:53 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

DckTech

Hi Everyone,
I am new here and I am having a problems with a friend's amp.
I am an electronic technologist by trade and have been repairing all things electronic for many years.
This one has me a little stumped.

They were playing one night, then suddenly this problem occurred.
I notice 1st thing that the 3300uF was loose and defective - replaced it - no change.

I have very low volume level on normal and even lower on override.
I tried Roly's suggestions:
patched send and return = no change
injected music into return = good proper volume overall
injected music into reverb out = good
all voltages = good
have swapped RC4558P's = no change

Somewhere in the preamp area?
Anyone had problems with the TL604CP?
The "Treble/Pull Ch. Select" does select the channels.

I do have an audio probe and can follow the music through the circuit, is there somewhere I can really concentrate on?

I have attached the schematic & User Manual

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks,
Dan

g1

There is no schematic in the attachment.

Enzo

So the power amp works, and you have isolated the problem to the preamp.  Good so far.

Has anyone eve had a bad TL604?  Yes.  There is no cocmponent in any amp that someone has not seen a failure on.  Specifically the 604 is used as a switch or signal router, and TI stopped making them long ago, and they are generally not available.  There are ways around that, but let us not get ahead of ourselves.  Plus Peavey makes a little thing you can solder in place of a TL604 to take its place.