Welcome to Solid State Guitar Amp Forum | DIY Guitar Amplifiers. Please login or sign up.

March 28, 2024, 06:37:58 PM

Login with username, password and session length

Recent Posts

Mod a Squire SP-10 amp.

Started by dori2o, August 23, 2008, 09:58:16 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

dori2o

Has anyone here ever modded an SP-10 Squire amp. I'm pretty new to all this and have an old SP10 amp that I'd like to modify.

Jack1962

what kind of mod are you wanting to do, or what do you want to change about it?

Rock On

dori2o

Anything really, I've never been impressed with the bass or treble on it, and the distortion is horrible. It sounds very tinny.

I just want to mess about with it and see if there are any impreovements I can make to it.

J M Fahey

Hi Dori.
I guess that the *best* mod you'll begin with, is to get a decent 12" guitar speaker, build a very simple box for it, and use your Squire only as a head, running your speaker wires straight to the better, improved, external one, unhooking the cheesy internal one.
You'll have better treble, lots of extra bass, and the distortion will improve a lot.
If you have the schematic, please share it with us.
Bye
JM

aoresteen

I picked up a used SP-10 in a pawnshop for $20.  It sounded a bit weak & tinny and the overdive is terrible.  The SP-10 uses a 6.5" speaker.  I opened it to see what was inside and it's what I expected - a cheap, cheap speaker (8 ohms).

Jensen makes a MOD series of speakers and they make a 6.5" size 4 ohm.  I found one new on eBay for $30.  Today I installed it and what a difference!!!  The amp is very, very clean.  Add a modeling pedal and it smokes!  Even the OD is a little better (but not much).

I'm very happy with the Jensen MOD speaker.  Here is a shot of the inside of the SP-10 with the Jensen MOD speaker.

Tony
Orlando
Tony Oresteen
Peavey Bandit Silver Strip, Revolution 112
Marshall MOSFET Lead 100 3210
Squier SP10
Newnan, GA

STDog

Quote from: aoresteen on January 03, 2009, 10:01:55 PM