Welcome to Solid State Guitar Amp Forum | DIY Guitar Amplifiers. Please login or sign up.

April 27, 2024, 07:27:44 AM

Login with username, password and session length

Recent Posts

another newbie

Started by heineken, February 25, 2010, 03:34:52 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

heineken

Hi all, this is my first post. I've been lurking for a couple days now. I am interested in building my own guitar amp (obviously). I am wondering what is a good starter project?
Ideally, I would like to have a 100W amp with a killer distortion channel similar to a Randall RH100 or better (warhead perhaps), but I do realize it's best to start small.
I have lots of experience in soldering and a fair amount of knowledge of electronics, but I'm by far not an expert. I'm a technician in a Honda dealership, so I do see my fair share of wires.

All input greatly appreciated.

J M Fahey

Start by building a Randall preamp.
Search this forum.
Mensur built an excellent one, just listen to his posted MP3s, he drives a TDA7294.
Siund is impressive.

heineken

it does sound quite good. should i get a power amp circuit from chipamp, or do  I need something more for that kind of power? I've looked into the LM3886 a little bit but I don't see what it's total power rating would be. Or does you're wattage rating come from the preamp? I guess I'm newer at this than I thought.

On another note, is an Opamp just an integrated circuit? Or is there more to them than that. Are they made specifically for amp design, or can I pull one out of say, a cars PCM?
just curious.

J M Fahey

Chipamps are good, but best of all is that they come in kits with everything needed, they are relatively simple, and since many have built them successfully, there's a pool of knowledge and help available around here.
They usually supply 50/60W each; a stereo Kit gives you 100/120W; if you become power hungry you can later build a powered box and add speakers and power indefinitely.
An Op Amp is an integrated circuit.