Welcome to Solid State Guitar Amp Forum | DIY Guitar Amplifiers. Please login or sign up.

April 28, 2024, 05:43:17 AM

Login with username, password and session length

Recent Posts

Building a bass amp?

Started by oleskool, June 12, 2012, 11:11:05 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

oleskool

Hello everyone. I am new to this fourm. I have a question that I haven't seen answered using the search function, although i'm certain it has been asked. I am probably not searching correctly. I want to build a bass amplifier and separate cabinet. I would like to go with 350- 500 watts. If this is dumb i'll just step back off this. The safe bet is SS, I don't want to try tubes, well , because I enjoy life, and i dont own a O'scope. First are their kits available for something like this, that you are aware of? I'm not too worried about the cabinet, l'll most likely go with one of the fearful designs if you are familiar with those.

J M Fahey

300/500W is doable, but not suggested as a first project.
Rather than *electronic* problems, the "mechanical" problems will arise finding a suitable big heavy chassis to hold it all, the big power transformer, big cooling fins plus probably adding some cooling fan, etc.
Notice the repeated use of the word "big" and not by chance.
Cost may easily add up.
I would start by building a nice Bass preamp, your choice, plus a 50/70W chipamp.
You can use it with a 15" speaker or a 2x10" cabinet.
You are not wasting your time, that amp will be kept for rehearsals and recording, plus being easily portable anywhere.
Later on you can either build a 300/500W kit, if available (remember the "mechanicals" I mentioned, just the PCB and a transformer which is what kits offer is far from a practical working amp) or plain get a cheap 300/500W rack amp and building a suitable cabinet 2x15" at least or 2 of 4x10" style.
Forget a single 8x10", impossible to carry.
Also forget a "500W" single 15" ; they promise but do not deliver.