Welcome to Solid State Guitar Amp Forum | DIY Guitar Amplifiers. Please login or sign up.

April 24, 2024, 02:22:07 PM

Login with username, password and session length

Recent Posts

Im a noob in this

Started by Vigo, July 23, 2017, 11:47:43 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Vigo

Hey, first of all, im new here so thanks for having me. I've been reading a lot lately since my amp blew up and i decided to rebuild one myself using some parts of it.

What im looking for is advices to know if im on the right path or if i mixed something up.

One of the things that i'd like to get cleared out is the signal chain processing, i've had in mind that it would go something like that (I'll try to add as much steps as possible to be as precise as i can be)

1 - guitar signal

2 - input receiving (keeping current returns with the correct impedance?)

3 - boosting my mV signal with a correct OPamp (im really unsure which amp should do the trick for that)

4 - distortion (im making a set up which will probably only have a single channel, high gain, i've read online that diodes soft clipping in serial with mosfets might produce a more overdriven and warm sound (is that true?) that would be what im after)

5 - filtering (what i'd like here is a bass, mid, treble setup with 2 pass filters, one low and one high, i think the pass filters should be put in the power-amp section thought or am i mistaken ? )

6 - sending the signal to the power-amp

7 - boosting the around 1 volt signal to something that's relevant for my speaker (4 ohm) (my poweramp will be using a 120/16-16 XFO since i salvaged that with a couple of other parts from the previous amp and i was hoping i could get something around 30-wattish with that setup since that's what i had before and it was more than convenient for me.)
-------
If i had to choose, this part is the most blurry to me, i dont really know what i should aim for in my component, values