Welcome to Solid State Guitar Amp Forum | DIY Guitar Amplifiers. Please login or sign up.

March 28, 2024, 10:41:16 AM

Login with username, password and session length

Recent Posts

How hard is it to build the amp I want?

Started by Jakedog, December 01, 2017, 12:22:07 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Jakedog

Apologies if this has been covered here a lot, I'm brand new. I have come here because I have questions about SS and hybrid amps, and how to build one.

I'm a pro player. 30 years on the job. I have never been happy with tube amps. If they have enough headroom and Dynamics, they're too big and heavy. I have an aversion to things most guitar players like. Stuff like sag, compression, splatty low end breakup, etc.

Lately I have been using an early 00's Marshall AVT 50. It's not perfect by any means, but I like it far better than anything else I've tried recently.

It got me thinking- How hard would it be to homebrew a better version? Or at least comparable, but simplified and with more power.

I need one channel, with a tube driven pre, and just basic Gain, hi, mid, low, and master controls. That, and a loop is all I need. I'd like to couple that to a 100-200 watt analog SS output section.

I've soldered inside guitars for 25 years. But I have no knowledge of electronics or building or repairing amplifiers. Totally clueless.

How do I figure it out? Or is it better to find somebody who already knows what they're doing?

Thanks.

phatt

Well it's not a simple task but it can be rewarding though don't expect it to work perfect first go. Best bet is to build a small circuit first, google "Ruby Amp" it's a half watt chip amp and simple to get working.

A couple of Q's for you.
Do you use the OD on the Vt50?   If not then that will simplify the circuit.

Do you use pedals? If you do, you may not need an FX loop in the amp,
you just plug into the front end.

Options: