Welcome to Solid State Guitar Amp Forum | DIY Guitar Amplifiers. Please login or sign up.

March 28, 2024, 04:46:37 PM

Login with username, password and session length

Recent Posts

1981 Roland Jazz Chorus 120 CH1 Problems - Solved

Started by substatica, September 12, 2016, 06:17:45 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

substatica

Heyall,

Came across this old thread,

http://www.ssguitar.com/index.php?topic=3575.0

While trying to repair an '81 JC-120 I purchased as-is and seems folks in these forums can probably help.

The schematic is here,

http://music-electronics-forum.com/attachments/30030d1407958634-sm_jc-120_11016.pdf

CH1 speaker is dead, when I connect a good speaker to CH1 I get a tone but no signal, seems like around 100hz. CH2 works fine, so, everything works except for CH1 and thus Chorus because it requires CH1. Any ideas what I should be checking? I've got some experience with electronics, amps and pedals, built amps from kits and small ones from scratch. Have an older oscilloscope, multimeter and such. Thanks.

Update: Okay, found a couple of bad resistors (R72, R73, R74) and a bad diode (D1) on CH1 and swapped those out, now I get some crackling from that channel but no signal.

Update: Seems like R75 and R76 are bad too, which are fusing resistors -- I suppose I could replace those with non-fusing ones for now?

Update: Replaced R75 and R76, still just crackling from CH1, but softer.

phatt

Poweramp hums,,, then likely you have DC on speaker,, :o
if so then remove that speaker before it burns out the Voice Coil like the original one probably did.

Now set DMM to DCV and note the *voltage at speaker output terminals* it should be very close to Zero,, If not the power stage is faulty. (100mV either side of Zero is normal)
These poweramps are Direct Coupled and generally if one part blows then it can destroy others.
you need to establish the fault before replacing parts which may just burn again.