Welcome to Solid State Guitar Amp Forum | DIY Guitar Amplifiers. Please login or sign up.

March 28, 2024, 04:58:05 PM

Login with username, password and session length

Recent Posts

Kustom KML-80 issues

Started by exnomine, December 27, 2011, 02:07:07 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

exnomine

Hello, I'm new to troubleshooting and repairing amps, but have a reasonable knowledge of electronics. I have an old Kustom KML 80 MosFet amp. The amp powers up fine, but the output is weak and distorted, even on the clean channel. Upon examining the power amp, I saw 2 resistors (the big rectangular ones, metal oxide i believe they were) were somewhat burned, and the circuit board under them was discolored from heat as well. I removed and tested them and they were off (684 ohm, theyy were supposed to be 750 +/- 5%) that didnt seem like a big deal, but I replaced them anyways, and tested 2 zener diodes and another resistor that were in line before them and they checked fine. I re-assembled the amp and still have the problem. 
Does anyone have any suggestions on where to begin, or am I going to have to test every single component on the circuitboard?

J M Fahey

Google its schematic or ask for it to Kustom themselves, providing serial number.
Otherwise it´s close to impossible.
Even testing *all* parts, which is impractical, you still might have a connection or soldering problem.
Those resistors you checked probably feed the +/- 15V preamp supplies, it´s normal for them to be very hot.

exnomine

I have a schematic now. The PDF was too big to upload, here's a link: http://www.mediafire.com/download.php?770a8ghrs85sdxf
I was hoping it was a common problem and someone could point me in the right direction as to where to start, based on the symptoms. I guess its much more complicated than an obviously damaged component, so I may just have to take it somewhere for repairs.

exnomine

UPDATE: