Welcome to Solid State Guitar Amp Forum | DIY Guitar Amplifiers. Please login or sign up.

March 28, 2024, 11:39:21 AM

Login with username, password and session length

Recent Posts

Help building my first guitar amplifier

Started by ShadowSpectrum, December 09, 2006, 04:13:03 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

ShadowSpectrum

I've been looking into building a guitar amp for the past couple of days because I figured it would be a cost-effective way to get the power I need (I'm going to build an amplifier for live performances, I don't need another practice amp), plus I enjoy DIY projects and I figured it would be fun.

Let me get some things out of the way: I have no experience with electronics, including soldering (I do own a soldering iron, not sure if the quality is good enough to build an amp with though), and I don't know how to read a schematic. I'm an absolute beginner and I know next to nothing. I've already read most of the pinned topics here, but I'm still pretty lost. Any recommended reading for information on schematics, general electronics, soldering, etc. would be appreciated.

The only things I know for sure is that I want something around 100w, +/- 20w would be fine, and I would like two channels, one clean, one for distortion. I was looking at this page: http://www.oliveaudio.com/index.php?page=3, and the second one down can put out 110w with "IRF540N / 9540N". Do you think this amp would be easy enough for a beginner like myself? If not, any recommendations?

Thanks,
Andrew

joecool85

First things first, you're going to need to learn how to solder.  A good way to do this is a simple effects pedal.  I would suggest my 5th gear overdrive, its easy to build and will get you on your way to learning how to do stuff like this.

Lets see if you can tell me what any of this is:

Life is what you make it.
Still rockin' the Dean Markley K-20X
thatraymond.com

ShadowSpectrum

Thanks for responding :)