Welcome to Solid State Guitar Amp Forum | DIY Guitar Amplifiers. Please login or sign up.

May 09, 2024, 06:28:00 AM

Login with username, password and session length

Recent Posts

Princeton (Panasonic?) C1815 Based Amp Questions

Started by yamtempura, April 11, 2013, 03:10:02 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

yamtempura

Hi Everybody,

First time poster, long time lurker. I have a lot of experience working on and designing tube amps, but have only dabbled a bit in solid state amps. I've been commissioned to design an amp for a friend ("commissioned" is a fancy way of saying build for free/fun) based on a beloved weirdo Japanese solid state amp he has. The amp is a Princeton "Prince" T-70 model. From the very little I've found about them, they seem to have been built by Panasonic. I'm not expecting anyone to be familiar with this particular amp, but I was hoping that maybe somebody was familiar with any other amp designs that used the C1815 transistor. I'm curious to see if there's a more common model (one with readily available schematic for example) that also used this NPN transistor as the basis of its pre-amp.

Any help or pointing in a direction would be infinitely appreciated! Thanks!

Enzo

2SC1815 is a very common transistor, or at least used to be.   I have a drawer of them.   60v 150ma, complement to the 2SA1015.  Low noise type.

Just about any small NPN transistor would work in its place.  This isn't like choosing 12AX7 versus 12AU7.   If I wanted to make a circuit based on the C1815, I could just as easily used 2N5210 instead.  Being aware the 2SCxxx types have the legs in different order from 2Nxxx.   SO you need not find a schematic using the C1815 specifically.