Welcome to Solid State Guitar Amp Forum | DIY Guitar Amplifiers. Please login or sign up.

April 30, 2024, 11:34:10 PM

Login with username, password and session length

Recent Posts

Fresh Meat

Started by lam0go, February 05, 2012, 08:20:43 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

lam0go

Hello I'm Levi and I'm an alcoholic, oh wait wrong group. I'm Levi and I'm a noob, that sounds better. I am just getting started in guitar and music in general. A friend is walking me through a Mel Bay book, but I am also interested in how my guitar works. I just bought a broken guitar that I needed to replace the volume dial and now I have an amp that has a bad buzz I want to fix. I think it is considered a Solid State since I don't see any tubes. I looked around on the Internet for a while and this site came up often so I thought I'd join and see if anyone can lend me a hand on my project. I'm an American now living in the Philippines going to school so buying parts isn't easy cause they are hard to find here and I've discovered no one has any idea what I am asking for when I go look. (No Radio Shack)

I am familiar with soldering but anything else dealing with circuitry is new to me. But let me describe my project. The Amp I am sure was manufactured here in the Philippines, so it may not be something standard like a Fender or Marshal amp. The case is broke because something fell on it when it was being moved. It still works but I am going to rebuild the case, and while I am at it hopefully get rid of the buzzing sound. I have an idea where the buzz comes from but would like to run it by someone first if someone wouldn't mind helping me.

Description of the Problem: