Welcome to Solid State Guitar Amp Forum | DIY Guitar Amplifiers. Please login or sign up.

April 29, 2024, 11:21:31 PM

Login with username, password and session length

Recent Posts

Lab Series L7 (L5) low volume / intermittent distorted operation

Started by MatthewMuffin, March 16, 2013, 05:37:26 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

MatthewMuffin

Hey Everyone-

First post.  I've been checking out different posts by Lab Series users and have been working on mine for a couple month on and off and have not been able to solve the issues.  I'm still a novice at amp repair so I'm wondering if some of you old pros could at least point me in the right direction.

I have an ooooold l7 Lab series 4x10 combo which produces very ugly distorted sounds when a note is plucked hard.  Light plucking doesn't produce a sound at all. The first two channels work at maybe 10% volume and the second two work at reduced volume as well, but are noticeably louder.  I've checked the speakers and power amp in and at this point I'm thinking it is the power supply-  So far I've replaced a dead diode, but I've found several more with black soot on the leads and am wondering if this is a sign of failure?

Also, the sound is too screwed up to give a qualitative test the compressor but when turned on, the led will be lit for about one second then quickly fade.

Anyways, thanks for your help in advance and I apologize for my lack of knowledge  :duh

MatthewMuffin

Almost forgot too, if I havn't used it in a day or two, there is a loud hum when powered on that lasts for about 30 - 60 seconds and then is gone. 

DrGonz78

Test the speaker leads for DC on output. Test it as you turn on the amp to see if there is DC voltage on the output. Lets see if there is a surge of DC as you start the amp and then see if it goes away.
"A person who never made a mistake never tried anything new." -Albert Einstein

MatthewMuffin

Thanks DrGonz-