Welcome to Solid State Guitar Amp Forum | DIY Guitar Amplifiers. Please login or sign up.

April 27, 2024, 08:00:13 AM

Login with username, password and session length

Recent Posts

Common Emitter Amplifier Questions

Started by sa230e, July 17, 2014, 03:58:37 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

sa230e

Hey,

I'm a real electronics noob. I was really into it a couple years ago and I sort of put it on the back burner and now I've been slowly getting back into it - starting with the basics: simple amplifier circuits. I have some NPN BJTs and I want to use them to amplify a guitar signal and I've been reading tutorials and simulating some basic circuits in LTSpice and I have some questions.

Fig 1:

So I have this common emitter amplifier pictured (fig 1) and it works just as expected. The quiescent collector voltage is 6v (1/2 of my Vcc) it has a voltage gain of 5. I'm feeding it a sine wave with amplitude 1v p-p and I get a sine wave 5v p-p at the collector. So far so good.

Fig 2:

So I increase the input signal to 2v p-p (fig 2) and it starts to clip asymetrically. I thought transistors were supposed to clip symmetrically. The bottom half of the signal clips at around 2v but the top half is undistorted.

Fig 3:

When I increase the input signal amplitude a lot, to 10v p-p (fig 3) the output starts to get REALLY ugly. The top half of the signal clips at 12v just like I would expect but the bottom half of the signal gets these "humps". I've circled them in red. What is going on here? I can't imagine it would sound good. Also the "width" of the waveform seems to be distended, if that makes any sense.

Fig 4: