Welcome to Solid State Guitar Amp Forum | DIY Guitar Amplifiers. Please login or sign up.

April 28, 2024, 08:58:34 AM

Login with username, password and session length

Recent Posts

guitar amp kit

Started by big45, December 12, 2006, 07:57:41 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

big45

hello all,
i am new to this forum, and it looks like a great one!
i am thinking about building an amp for my guitar.
what i am looking for is a kit, with all the components, at least a chassis, and electronics,hardware.
   i would like to build a 50 to 100 watt amp. it could be a tube  or
solid state kit.
   i would like a clear high output amp.
   any suggestions or help in building one..would be appreciated.
  i have some background in electronics and schematics, but has been awhile since any project.
   being out of work..i dont have a lot of money to just buy an amp.
besides, i would like to build my own anyway.
   thanks for this site :tu:
play hard and play loud!

joecool85

Well, you have a few options, but unfortunetly the only full out kits offered are tube, and expensive.  To get the kind of wattage you want it would be rediculous expensive doing tube, I would go with solid state.  So thats the bad news, no SS kit for you.  The good news is that it is really easy to build a 50w RMS solid state power amp, and relatively easy building a good preamp (its harder deciding what one to build than it is actually building it.)  A simple LM3886 circuit will give you a solid 50w RMS.