Welcome to Solid State Guitar Amp Forum | DIY Guitar Amplifiers. Please login or sign up.

April 23, 2024, 06:42:49 AM

Login with username, password and session length

Recent Posts

Looking for my first amp build...

Started by sugrhigh, January 12, 2008, 01:25:21 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

sugrhigh

I have been reading up on amp building a lot here lately (tube amp at first but they are terribly expensive).

Anyways, what is a good beginner amp to build? I have experience with pcb's and general electronics so I'm not a total newbie! I know I'm a beginner so I don't want to bite off more than I can chew, but I also want an amp I would be inclined to use, that sounds good, and is of somewhat high quality. I'd like about a 50 watter, but if you think that is a bad idea for a beginner I'll consider anything because after all, I'm new!!

I have seen the Little Gem (and MKII) and wasn't impressed with the sound clip I head of the MKII, the Little Gem was nice but I think I want something a little large. Same goes for the Noisy Cricket....

Basically, what amp would you suggest and what's a reasonable price estimate for the amp (without cabinet and speaker so just the head).

Thanks for any replies!

joecool85

I'd suggest building a LM3886 kit from brian at chipamp.com for the power amp section, and pretty much anything you want for the preamp.  They aren't too pricey at $50 with all the parts necessary to build it (minus the transformer and heat sink).  Be prepared to spend ~$100 on the poweramp once you get it all running.  The preamp can be done for much cheaper, on the order of $25 normally depending on how you do it and what you choose to do.
Life is what you make it.
Still rockin' the Dean Markley K-20X
thatraymond.com

sugrhigh

Thanks for the quick reply

I checked out chipamp.com and seems like a good plan.
But on that topic:
Should I get the dual mono or stereo chipamp?
Do I just replace the RCA jacks with a 1/4" (guitar) jack?