Welcome to Solid State Guitar Amp Forum | DIY Guitar Amplifiers. Please login or sign up.

April 16, 2024, 01:05:22 AM

Login with username, password and session length

Recent Posts

Fender FRONTMAN 25R amp with LM3886 instead of TDA1514?

Started by jordileft, July 15, 2010, 10:53:56 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

jordileft

Hi, I'm planning to build a Frontman 25R, but I can't find TDA1514 anywhere. I've been looking for a replacement for that chip and I've seen that LM3886 is a good replacement, but I'm just an amateur on electronics so I don't know if I have to change the schematic to make this replacement, could somebody help me? thanks!

DJPhil

You'll almost certain to have to make some changes and adjustments, as they don't have the same pinout (or even the same number of physical pins).

This is how I'd approach things . . .

Start out by printing up the respective datasheets. Take the Frontman schematic and figure out what the gain is set for, and why the surrounding components are there. Odds are pretty good that the power amp block is similar to the datasheet. Then you can translate that over to an equivalent circuit for the 3886.

That would do most of the legwork for the pros, and they'd have an easier time spotting trouble in a prototype circuit than having to design it from the ground up. I'll help if you get stuck, but I've got to get some rest at the moment so I don't have time to drive into the details right off.

Hope that helps some. :)

jordileft

Quote from: DJPhil on July 15, 2010, 12:25:07 PM
Hope that helps some. :)

Thanks, it helps a little bit, but I don't have much confidence on my ability on achieving the right changes, 'cause it's my first SS amp. I'll try and I'll let you know!

J M Fahey

Hi Jordi.
Agreeing with the earlier suggestion and extending it a little:
I think the full Frontman is a bit too much to start, specially because an important part is unavailable.