Welcome to Solid State Guitar Amp Forum | DIY Guitar Amplifiers. Please login or sign up.

April 28, 2024, 09:28:44 AM

Login with username, password and session length

Recent Posts

In Japan (100v) with US (120v) SS combo amp

Started by CHiZZoPs, March 19, 2008, 03:58:51 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

CHiZZoPs

First of all, will under-powering hurt the amp? Secondly, I opened it up and noticed that the transformer in this pre-Fender SWR Workingman's 10" is a "Topmark" brand transformer, and is labeled as "120v 100v 0v." Furthermore, there is a brown wire coming from the transformer that is uncut and has not been used. Would replacing the black lead to the power switch with the brown rig the transformer to 100v?

Answers to these questions would be appreciated! Cheers.

xylix

Hi,
I'm no expert in this area by any means, but I have lived in Japan for most of the past decade (and used electronics things I bought over from Canada @ 120v). My understanding is that in general you are almost always OK underpowering anything. If you go the other way - plugging in a 100v appliance to 120v mains - you could be in for some trouble. It is like having a variac and turning the juice down a little bit. Your hair dryier or toaster isn't going to mind one bit (althought you may notice the hair dryier running slightly slower). It shouldn't make a bit of difference for an amp either (as far as I can tell). Think about an amplified device that runs on batteries. As they get emptied the voltage drops, but the device will keep operating normally (until the battery dies). By the way, I know nothing at all about the insides of Fender amps so can't address that other question.