Welcome to Solid State Guitar Amp Forum | DIY Guitar Amplifiers. Please login or sign up.

April 30, 2024, 02:32:56 AM

Login with username, password and session length

Recent Posts

Fender Reverb head - Jack replacement

Started by Jesterminute, January 15, 2016, 07:41:45 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Jesterminute

Hi, this is my first time posting and I'm new here.  Thanks in advance for any help/ advice you can give me.

I have a Fender Reverb amp head- used- and the jack needs replaced.  I first thought this as the guitar lead doesn't click into place. It seems from opening the head up that the jack is missing one or two grips to keep the lead in place.  If you push the lead to the side, the amp makes a hideous sharp piercing noise and crackles (not feedback),

The jack is connected to the circuit board not by a wire; sort of small  metal dots poking through the circuit board. 

Would this be a pain to do myself? 

Any advice on what to do would be welcomed.  I've attached a picture. 

Cheers guys.

Enzo

Wow, I have never seen a Fender Reverb Amp model.   The jack appears to be the common plastic type Fender used for years.   Is the jack black plastic with a clear plastic top, so you can see inside it?  Like this part:
https://www.tubesandmore.com/products/S-H506

To replace, we take off the knobs, then remove all the nuts on the control shafts and jacks, and I cannot see, but probably also a screw beside those audio in jacks.  That frees the board from the front panel.  There may be some screws inside or plastic posts, that hold the board.

Once the board is free, we flip it over and remove the solder on the jack pins, and take out the old jack.  The new jack is placed in the holes, and soldered.  Then the board is installed back into the amp.

If you are not skilled enough to remove and replace soldered parts on a circuit board, then you will need to find someone who is.

Jesterminute

Thanks for your reply Enzo, I appreciate your help!