Welcome to Solid State Guitar Amp Forum | DIY Guitar Amplifiers. Please login or sign up.

May 08, 2024, 09:22:43 PM

Login with username, password and session length

Recent Posts

Solid state troubleshooting

Started by faloon, December 05, 2012, 03:28:02 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

faloon

Hi all,

I have an old Japanese Companion A-200G 20W solid state amp (also sold under different brand names; Shin-Ei, Univox U-150R, Teisco) from the late 70s/early 80s that stopped working after my friend yelled a bit too hard through it with a normal voice microphone.

After switching it on it works (clean tone, full volume) for a few seconds and then fades down to a low output which is heavily distorted. Switching it off and back on does not help, ie. it is distorted from the second I turn it on. However, if I leave it unpowered for a longer time, it works for a few seconds after switching on (cold start).

I have some experience with electronics but I'd really appreciate if you could share some ideas where and how to start troubleshooting. Here's a schematic I found on the internet for a newer model with different power transistors and some other minor differences

http://www.aijaa.com/v.php?i=6727635.jpg
http://www.aijaa.com/v.php?i=6727633.jpg

The amp has a single clean channel meaning that this has nothing to do with channel switching problems.

Roly

Ah, a circuit, ripper!

Yeah, one look at the insides shows the driver tranny so this is an older style tranny driven totem-pole.

As always, disconnect the speaker and connect a limiting lamp in series with its mains supply.

It's a single rail supply with output coupling cap.  Looks like the supply from the mains filter cap to the power output board should be easy to lift "(A)" at the cap, so do that and confirm healthy supply voltage on the cap.