Welcome to Solid State Guitar Amp Forum | DIY Guitar Amplifiers. Please login or sign up.

March 28, 2024, 07:13:19 PM

Login with username, password and session length

Recent Posts

Basic Electronics tutorial for the complete beginner

Started by DJPhil, January 03, 2011, 11:25:20 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

DJPhil

Sure, there are dozens of places to start learning electronics. Everyone has their favorites.

There's a series of interactive tutorials hosted by the University of Texas at Austin that really surprised me.

I stumbled on this one while looking for something that would appeal to a friend of mine who's very visual and hands on. It seems like a good intro just to get the terms and ideas rolling around in the mind. I think it'd be excellent for those without a strong math or science background, or perhaps those who work better through analogy than abstraction.

Just thought I'd mention it in case anyone found it useful. :)

joecool85

Looks like an excellent link, thanks for sharing.

**edit**
The first lesson is a bit rough, I would recommend starting with Lesson #2 and then come back to #1 later - it will make more sense that way.
Life is what you make it.
Still rockin' the Dean Markley K-20X
thatraymond.com

phatt

Quote from: PECO on June 20, 2011, 11:56:55 PM
I'm a total beginner and I can't understand much, well, I know it is a theory. But don't worry I'll try harder and think harder haven't finished lesson 1 yet.  ;D

Hi PECO,

A beginner might be better served by a very simple explanation of How an amplifier circuit works then those lessons will make a little more sense.

This might be really obvious to the Teck minded but to a novice they need a *concept*.
This helped me a great deal.

Without a concept you will likely get lost in the maze,, heck I did  :duh

Simply put;  Just *AC Volts riding on DC Volts*
An Amplifier is the AC wiggle of the guitar string (or any musical signal, the stuff you hear)