Welcome to Solid State Guitar Amp Forum | DIY Guitar Amplifiers. Please login or sign up.

March 28, 2024, 05:37:18 AM

Login with username, password and session length

Recent Posts

Someone please help

Started by fumbi, June 18, 2006, 04:19:30 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

fumbi

I am an absolute noob at building amps. I am looking to make a 30-50 watt combo amp. I have no clue where to start. also would i be able to do this for less than 80 euros? Is there any tutorial  or somthing that will show me exactly how to make one ( i am kinda worried about blowing somthing up). I have a digitech rp 80 so i imagine i can use that as a preamp. I also live in austria if that effects anything. Any help is appriciated. thanx

el mo

hi,
unfortunately, 80 EUR will be a little difficult unless you already happen to have a suitable speaker. if you have no experience with electronics in general, you could get a poweramp-kit as www.conrad.at offers them.
they come with a good documentation brochure and reasonably good parts. as for the speakers, conrad used to carry cheap guitar speakers in the past too (really cheap)- i don't know if they still do. for the power supply, you could see if there's a
good "bastelladen" near your place where you might find a suitable transformer.
finally, the only really good advice i can give you is to have look at a book called "gitarrenverstärker-sound" by a man called helmut lemme, quite a lot of information but very useful.

fumbi

Hi thanks for the info. I have found an 18 watt amplifier cuircuit on conrad already built for only 15. now how much would it cost for a 8 inch speaker. I am not looking for top of the line but decent one. I can raise my budget because that seems needed. and are there any specs i should know about power supplies. I am kinda considering using 2 of these amplifiers connected to 2 speakers and using the stereo mode on my pedal. Kinda making a 2x8 combo. Would this work. Thanx

el mo