Welcome to Solid State Guitar Amp Forum | DIY Guitar Amplifiers. Please login or sign up.

March 28, 2024, 08:38:44 PM

Login with username, password and session length

Recent Posts

SS poweramp as preamp

Started by mgr800, June 15, 2006, 09:19:10 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

mgr800

I just found this site and am eager to comment on my rig. I'll spare you the effects before the amp.
first its a Crate GFX 15 practice amp which i run at full volume for distortion, the headphone out is sent to a transformer that i salvaged from the power supply from some computer speakers and a potentiometer as a master volume. This is all sent to a BBE 822 sonic maximizer which goes to the effects return of a Carvin SX-200 combo amp.
You got all that?
I really like the tone of set-up but i was just wondering if this is in some way bad for the amplifiers involved. I've been using this set-up (minus the BBE) for atleast 4 months.

joecool85

From what I gathered from your post it shouldn't be a problem since you are running it from the headphone out.
Life is what you make it.
Still rockin' the Dean Markley K-20X
thatraymond.com

mgr800

yeah i didnt really think there was a problem, i just like telling people about my rig and thought this would be  a good place.

joecool85

You should take a picture of it, I wanna see this thing.
thatraymond.com

teemuk

Interesting setup. How did you hook up the transformer and what turns ratio does it have? I assume you have it "reversed" (if you can say this about transformers) so that it attenuates the signal from the headphone out and does some impedance matching as well. Do you have any resistors or other stuff in the circuit (besides the potentiometer of course)?

mgr800