Welcome to Solid State Guitar Amp Forum | DIY Guitar Amplifiers. Please login or sign up.

May 15, 2024, 09:50:51 AM

Login with username, password and session length

Recent Posts

Help - Marshall 8008 Power Amp Blowing Output Transformers

Started by daryl, February 23, 2013, 07:54:27 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

daryl

I have a Marshal 8008 power amp that I have owned about 15 years after about 4 years ownership it stopped working. I opened it up saw blown fuse (can't remember which were gone) tried  replacing the fuse but I remember it just blew again so I put it in the loft and forgot about it as I knew nothing about electronics then.

I've been building my own effects pedals for about a year now and remembered the amp the other day, and now that I know a bit more I thought i'd have a go at repairing it. I've only worked on pedals so I am completely new to working on amps.

Image of internal layout:

Link to schematic:
http://www.amparchives.com/Amp%20Archives/Marshall/Schematics%20&%20Layouts/Marshall%20Amp%20Schematics/Valvestate/8008%2080Wx2%20Rack%20Mount%20Power%20Amp/rackmount_2x80w_8008.pdf

What I have done so far:

Pulled all 6 transistors on the heatsinks and tested them, found a short on the T64 /T65 pair on channel A. So I swapped them out for TIP 142 /147. (Although I did completely forget and bought them in a smaller package size than the original output transistors.)

Plugged a guitar into Input A and a 4ohm cab into Output A, turned guitar volume to 0 and amp volume to 0 and turned it on. The output transistors on channel A blew instantly and were smoking so I turned it off quickly. None of the fuses blew though.

So I lifted the base leg of all of the smaller transistors and tested those, all of them were fine.

So I removed the rectifier and tested that and it was fine.

While the rectifier was out I tested the voltage reading on the red and black wires on CON1 and got 57v reading.