Welcome to Solid State Guitar Amp Forum | DIY Guitar Amplifiers. Please login or sign up.

April 27, 2024, 05:51:18 PM

Login with username, password and session length

Recent Posts

Help with Ohms

Started by mfh, April 14, 2008, 02:45:37 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

mfh

I recently picked up the chassis unit from a Sears 60 BXL and was wondering if anyone knew what this amp was rated for? Or maybe there is some way of calculating this that I am unaware of. (I'm a total amateur so this wouldn't be surprising.) I'm planning on building a cab to go with the chassis but for obvious reasons would rather not fry the amp. Any help would be greatly appreciated.

n9voc

My research shows it to be a 60 Watts PEAK rating (about 30watts avg).  Also, seems to have come with a 15" speaker (originally a bass amp)

Most of this type amp was designed around either an 8 ohm or 4 ohm speaker.  If you run it into an 8 ohm speaker, you probably will be fine.  The worst case scenario is that because the voltage level at the speaker ports has a fixed maximum, an amplifier rated at 60 watts maximum into 4 ohms will give you 30 watts maximum into 8 ohms.

mfh