Welcome to Solid State Guitar Amp Forum | DIY Guitar Amplifiers. Please login or sign up.

April 29, 2024, 04:59:38 AM

Login with username, password and session length

Recent Posts

Marshall MG30 DFX HELP PLEASE!!!

Started by Rikshand00, January 20, 2013, 08:03:45 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Rikshand00

Hey everyone. Can anyone help me? My marshall MG30 DFX hasn't been working for some time. At first it would cut out and go really quiet when I was playing on it. Now the sound doesn't work at all. The strange thing is that If I plug headphones in to the output socket I can hear the sound coming out fine.
Im not an electrical engineer so if anyone replies, please simplify for me. :duh Thanks   :dbtu:

phatt

Hi Rik, and welcome.

IF your amplifier has a send return setup (usually on the back) then get a spare guitar cord and join that loop via the cord.
Does that bring it back to life?
Phil.

Rikshand00

hi phil and thanks. No I cant see one  :-\. Does it look like a normal Jack socket? IF so there is nothing on the back

phatt

Yes they are standard 6.5mm sockets just like the front input. Sometimes they are on the front.
But ok if they don't exist then you have to try other ideas.
All is not lost because if the headphones work then I doubt much is wrong.

Wait a while and other minds here will likely know more, meantime check the speaker terminals have not fallen off or something like that.
Maybe Even use enzo's hi teck fault finding tool. :lmao:
Give it a good whack on the top of the case and see if something happens.
Often over time solder joins crack on the PCB and cause problems and a good belt reconnects things. It won't stay working for long but it gives clues as to what maybe wrong and it may need to be opened up and checked.
Phil.

DrGonz78