Welcome to Solid State Guitar Amp Forum | DIY Guitar Amplifiers. Please login or sign up.

April 23, 2024, 06:53:52 PM

Login with username, password and session length

Recent Posts

amp suddenly stopped working

Started by alexmatak, November 25, 2012, 12:25:02 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

alexmatak

I'm a real rookie at all guitar gear related things and am looking for some advice about my amp that just cut out while I was playing.
Basically it was working fine one minute and then the sound cut out and hasn't worked since. I've tried it with many different cables, and plugged it into several different outlets etc, all with the same problem. The strange thing is that the power light is still coming on but it now does this weird thing where after I hit the power button off it takes a really long time for the light to go out (it does this dim-fade out thing now, whereas before it would just go right off).
Does anyone have an idea of what might be the problem here?
The amp itself is really low end, just a little Squire 15 practice amp, but it all that I have so I would love to get it back up an running!

any advice would be great

Loudthud

I have a schematic for that amp from 1985. Two stage opamp preamp, diode clipping and a single transistor stage. Descrete 7 transistor power amp with +/- 21V rails and headphone jack.

Try using a pair of headphones or just insert a phone plug into the headpone jack a number of times. If that doesn't work, you probably have blown transistors in the power amp section.

DrGonz78

What sort of skills do you possess? Do you have DMM? Do you have skills soldering? Etc.... Etc... Etc...