Welcome to Solid State Guitar Amp Forum | DIY Guitar Amplifiers. Please login or sign up.

April 20, 2024, 04:13:35 AM

Login with username, password and session length

Recent Posts

Randall RH300 G3 cuts out at high volume

Started by Anthrax Zygote, February 08, 2010, 10:42:50 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Anthrax Zygote

I have a Randall rh300 G3 that works perfectly fine until I bring the volume up past about 7 on the level and 4-5 on the master. I hear that these amps tend to overheat but it doesn't feel very hot and as soon as I bring the volume down a bit it seems to return to normal ( although somewhat quiet ) operation.

Any suggestions? Should I just bring it to my tech? I'm pretty good with electronic repairs so if this can be cured somewhat reasonably I'd like to know how!
www.inxdisgust.com I'm an electrician and grind fan!
ampeg vh-150, ampeg ss-150, ampeg ss-140c, 5150, 5150 modified for el34's, Randall rh300 G3, Randall rh200, peavey supreme 160, peavey transtube supreme 100, and more cabinets than you can shake a stick at!

Anthrax Zygote

I forgot to mention that I'm quite familiar with running high wattage amps into low ohmage cabinets and the overheating problems that occur with randalls specifically. This seems to be a non-heat related issue...
ampeg vh-150, ampeg ss-150, ampeg ss-140c, 5150, 5150 modified for el34's, Randall rh300 G3, Randall rh200, peavey supreme 160, peavey transtube supreme 100, and more cabinets than you can shake a stick at!

J M Fahey

Set it up so that it cuts off consistently.
Turn it off, pull it from the cabinet without disturbing any setting, and play again just as before.
Does it still cut off the same way?
When it does, direct a home-type fan towards it.
Does it have any effect?

Anthrax Zygote