Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?
September 07, 2010, 03:05:28 AM

Login with username, password and session length
Search
Web SSGuitar
Recent
[Today at 01:16:01 AM]

[Today at 01:08:36 AM]

[September 06, 2010, 06:30:40 AM]

[September 05, 2010, 05:31:35 PM]

[September 04, 2010, 11:13:27 AM]
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Pm from spam/scam  (Read 1603 times)
Mysteriphys
Chipper
*

Chip Points: 0
Posts: 7


View Profile
« on: February 05, 2010, 10:54:22 AM »

I just got a pm from user XandderrMan with the message:

Hello, friend. There are viruses' activities from your computer in last few days. Strongly recommend you to check your computer. You can find a report about your computer's security and solve every problem with it here: http://www.virus-*****/detected/Mysteriphys
Thank you. Forum member.

scramble the link so no one accidentally clicks it, the starred part is total.net...

Just thought I should report in about it.
Logged
J M Fahey
SSGuitar Mod
Elite SSGuitarist
****

Chip Points: 129
Posts: 998


View Profile Email
« Reply #1 on: February 05, 2010, 11:39:55 AM »

Hi Misteriphys, thanks for reporting.
We are suffering a virus attack for about a month or so.
Members are *strongly* encouraged not to click any suspicious "new" link.
Red flags/danger signs:
*New, previously unknown member (sorry new members, make yourselves known a little, avoid links on your *first* post , ask whatever you want and get invited to link schematics or whatever)
* Posts something irrelevant , such as "my cellphone now works better because ...." , "I found this incredible site full of Manga/Anime/Soccer pictures/whatever"
*Posts random, generic, valid anywhere responses, such as "good post", "security is important", "wash your hands", etc.
There is a new worm specifically written to attack forums such as this one: becomes member, reads all posts until it finds a word repeated often , say, "Stratocaster" and posts phrases like "if you want to see my *Stratocaster* , click: xxx.yyy.com"
Warning: some do not seem to post links in the message body itself, but on the signature.
Well, report if you see one, do not rely on "somebody else will"
Besides the virus problems caused to individual members, it would be a pity that some virus took down this great board.
Logged

Thank you for supporting SSGuitar. Some of our sponsors have useful sites. This message will go away after you make 5 posts.
joecool85
SSGuitar Admin
Legendary
******

Chip Points: 962
Posts: 1719


SSG Creator

joecool414@hotmail.com joecool41485
View Profile WWW Email
« Reply #2 on: February 05, 2010, 02:08:29 PM »

XandderrMan has been put on a temporary ban.  If it happens again, please let us know.
Logged

Life is what you make it.
Harmony H15V BobKat, Lyon LG-4/BK, Toyota Acoustic
LM3886, LM1875x2, LM386, TDA2003
Mysteriphys
Chipper
*

Chip Points: 0
Posts: 7


View Profile
« Reply #3 on: February 05, 2010, 03:52:08 PM »

If it happens again I'll post again, I've run a few forums myself in the past, those things sure can be a pest after a while. and this forum seems to be an A-1 resource. it would be a shame if it was over run :-/.

I'll be around
Logged
phatt
Master SSGuitarist
****

Chip Points: 22
Posts: 420


View Profile Email
« Reply #4 on: February 08, 2010, 10:02:45 AM »

just got one from *RazzorrMan* zero posts  Huh
joined on the 7th and PM's me on the 9th. Grin
Phil.
Logged
Mysteriphys
Chipper
*

Chip Points: 0
Posts: 7


View Profile
« Reply #5 on: February 10, 2010, 07:49:18 AM »

ValeryHub - "Hello, Mysteriphys.
Do you have XRumer 5.0.12 Palladium?
My friend was recommended this well-known software package for advertisement my w-site and money earning.
Can you share it? PLEASE!
Or maybe download link.... Thank you. Kiss you...

Kiss .......)"

yaaaa... thats anotherone
Logged
J M Fahey
SSGuitar Mod
Elite SSGuitarist
****

Chip Points: 129
Posts: 998


View Profile Email
« Reply #6 on: February 10, 2010, 10:39:24 AM »

This is one of the "Intelligent Spammers" I was talking about.
Unfortunately for us, it becomes member of our Forum, reads silently the posts for a while and then starts posting including links to the site they promote.
Now there's a new one, they started PM legitimate members.
Some details from their home site:
Quote
XRumer is a software application that automatically posts your messages to bulletin boards
Trouble
Quote
In a word it is an autosubmitter.
Trouble
Quote
Attention: unique feature ? software works around EVERY possible type of protection from automatic registration.
Trouble
 
Quote
A variations system, using which you can post up to 10000 messages all looking different but with similar contextual meaning and the user-defined hyperlinks in them.
Trouble Trouble Trouble
Logged
joecool85
SSGuitar Admin
Legendary
******

Chip Points: 962
Posts: 1719


SSG Creator

joecool414@hotmail.com joecool41485
View Profile WWW Email
« Reply #7 on: February 10, 2010, 12:50:06 PM »

I've updated the settings so users with less than 5 posts on the forum cannot send a PM.  This should clear out most of our issues I think.
Logged

Life is what you make it.
Harmony H15V BobKat, Lyon LG-4/BK, Toyota Acoustic
LM3886, LM1875x2, LM386, TDA2003
phatt
Master SSGuitarist
****

Chip Points: 22
Posts: 420


View Profile Email
« Reply #8 on: March 02, 2010, 09:59:45 AM »

I've updated the settings so users with less than 5 posts on the forum cannot send a PM.  This should clear out most of our issues I think.

Thanks for all you do Joe Smitten
and all the others involved in keeping things in order. Thumbs Up
Logged
joecool85
SSGuitar Admin
Legendary
******

Chip Points: 962
Posts: 1719


SSG Creator

joecool414@hotmail.com joecool41485
View Profile WWW Email
« Reply #9 on: March 02, 2010, 07:39:01 PM »

I've updated the settings so users with less than 5 posts on the forum cannot send a PM.  This should clear out most of our issues I think.

Thanks for all you do Joe Smitten
and all the others involved in keeping things in order. Thumbs Up

Your welcome, glad to know it's appreciated.  And thank you for being a part of this board.  It wouldn't be what it is without it's many members posting as often as you guys do.
Logged

Life is what you make it.
Harmony H15V BobKat, Lyon LG-4/BK, Toyota Acoustic
LM3886, LM1875x2, LM386, TDA2003
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to: